# 8<sup>th</sup> Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology Vancouver, Canada

# May 15-19, 2023

## **Important dates**

Abstract submission deadlines: 31<sup>st</sup> January 2023 (oral), 15<sup>th</sup> February (poster) Acceptance notification: 28<sup>th</sup> February 2023 Early bird registration: 15<sup>th</sup> March 2023

> Honorary Conference Chair: J. Giacomin (Queen's) Secretary General: I.A. Frigaard, (UBC) Technical Committee Chair: S.G. Hatzikinakos, (UBC) Conference Secretary: M. Zare; (UBC)

www.prcr2023.ca





# VANCOUVER



## **Technical Program**

#### G1. Polymer Solutions and Melts

Kyu Hyun (Pusan National University, Korea) Ravi Jagadeeshan (Monash University, Australia) Chen-Yang Liu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

#### G2. Industrial Rheology in Polymer Processing Abdellah Ajii (Polytechnique Montreal, Canada) Joung Sook Hong (Seoul National University, Korea) Denis Rodrigue (Laval University, Canada)

G3. Blends, Composites and Nanocomposites Yumi Matsumiya (Kyoto University, Japan) Yihu Song (Zhejiang University, China) Wei Yu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

#### G4. Suspensions and Colloids Sarah Hormozi (Cornell University, USA) Anthony Wachs (University of British Columbia)

G5. Emulsions, Foams and Bubbles Reghan James Hill (McGill University, Canada) Arun Ramchandran (University of Toronto, Canada) Marjan Zare (University of British Columbia)

#### G6. Self-assembly and Flow-induced Systems/Gels Michel Cloitre (ESPCI, France) Takamasa Sakai (Tokyo University, Japan) Kenji Urayama (Kyoto University, Japan)

# G7. Biomaterials and Biological Systems Nicky Eshtiaghi (RMIT University, Australia) Dana Grecov (University of British Columbia, Canada) Jason Stokes (University of Queensland, Australia)



## G8. Solids, Glasses and Granular Systems

George Petekidis (University of Crete, Greece) Dimitris Vlassopoulos (University of Crete, Greece)

#### G9. Active Matter

**Gwynn Elfring** (University of British Columbia, Canada) **Giovanniantonio Natale** (University of Calgary, Canada)

#### G10. Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics and Stability Ruri Hidema (Kobe University, Japan) Li Xi (McMaster University, Canada) Miguel Moyers-Gonzalez (Univ. of Canterbury, New Zealand)

- G11. Cellulose and Lignin Rheology Mark Martinez (University of British Columbia, Canada) Scott Renneckar (University of British Columbia, Canada)
- G12. Rheology in the Oil and Gas Industry Paulo Souza Mendes (PUC-Rio, Brazil) Sean Sanders (University of Alberta, Canada) Seyed Mohammad Taghavi (Laval University, Canada)

#### G13. Rheology in the Mining Industry Leopoldo Gutierrez (University of Concepcion, Chile) Marek Pawlik (University of British Columbia, Canada) Anthony Stickland (University of Melbourne, Australia)

S1. Founding Members of CSR – Commemorative Symposium Jeffrey Giacomin (Queen's University, Canada) Marie-Claude Heuzey (Polytechnique Montreal, Canada)

#### S2. Hiroshi Watanabe – Honorary Symposium Savvas G. Hatzikiriakos (University of British Columbia) Youngdon Kwon (Sung Kyun Kwan University, Korea) Yuichi Masubuchi (Nagoya University, Japan)

- Conference location University of British Columbia campus
- Vancouver YVR: Serviced by 56 major airlines with non-stop connections to over 125 destinations world-wide
- 25-30 minutes to UBC or downtown
- Taxi, car rental and public transportation